Der Domschatz von St. Stephan DeutschрусскийEnglish

Masterpieces of Religious Art in spectacular surroundings
The first room contains the portrait of Duke Rudolf IV, called »the Founder«, which dates from around 1360. It is said to be the oldest post-antique portrait of a sovereign in three-quarter profile. Not only did the duke have a major influence on the appearance of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, he also went down in the history of Vienna as the founder of the city’s university.

The famous altarpiece of Ober-St. Veit, which originates from the workshop of Albrecht Dürer, can be found in the west gallery among many other artworks. From here, visitors can enjoy a spectacular view on the interior of St. Stephen’s Cathedral. mehr...
 
The relic treasure
In April 2013, the elaborately restored St. Valentine’s chapel, which contains the relic treasure of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, was added to the exhibition. The adjoining Romanesque tower chamber can be visited for the first time in the history of St. Stephen’s Cathedral. mehr...
 
A tour with audio guide and iPad

In order to ensure that none of your questions remain unanswered, the admission price includes an audio guide in German, English, French, Italian, Spanish or Russian. Information sheets in Czech or Slovak are available at the ticket office. Inside the relic chapel, the »Digital Heilthumbuch« gives you the opportunity to research your name patron. mehr...

Reliquary cross 
mid 14th century, 1514 and 18th century
(large picture on the left)

Romanesque tower chamber

West gallery

St. Sebaldus
around 1486

Click to enlarge

Kirchenmeisteramt der Domkirche St. Stephan zu Wien | Stephansplatz 3 | 1010 Wien | Phone: +43 1 51552-3054 | info@der-domschatz-kehrt-zurueck.at
Graphic design: Roman Gerhardt | www.kailuweit-kultur.com

Der Domschatz von St. Stephan DeutschрусскийEnglish

Meisterwerke sakraler Kunst in spektakulärer Umgebung
Gleich im ersten Raum begrüßt Sie das Portrait Herzog Rudolfs IV., genannt der Stifter, aus der Zeit um 1360. Es gilt als das älteste nachantike Herrscherbildnis im Dreiviertel-Portrait. Der Herzog wirkte nicht nur auf das Aussehen des Stephansdomes bestimmend, sondern ging auch als Gründer der Wiener Universität in die Geschichte ein.

Auf der Westempore befindet sich neben vielen weiteren Kunstwerken der berühmte Ober-St.-Veiter Altar aus der Werkstatt Albrecht Dürers. Direkt daneben bietet sich Ihnen ein atemberaubender Ausblick auf das Innere des Stephansdoms. mehr...
 
Der Reliquienschatz
Im April 2013 wurde die Ausstellung um die aufwendig restaurierte Valentinskapelle mit dem Reliquienschatz von St. Stephan erweitert. Die daran anschließende romanische Turmkammer kann erstmals in der Geschichte des Domes besichtigt werden. mehr...
 
Rundgang mit Audioguide und iPad

Damit bei Ihrem Besuch keine Fragen offen bleiben, ist der Audioguide in deutscher, englischer, französischer, italienischer, spanischer und russischer Sprache bereits im Eintrittspreis enthalten. Tschechische und slowakische Führungsblätter sind an der Kasse erhältlich. Und mit dem »Digitalen Heilthumbuch« können Sie in der Reliquienkapelle ihrem Namensheiligen auf die Spur kommen. mehr...

Kreuzreliquiar 
Mitte 14. Jahrhundert bzw. 1514 und 18. Jahrhundert
(großes Bild links)

Romanische Turmkammer

Westempore

Hl. Sebald
um 1486

Klicken zum Vergrößern

Kirchenmeisteramt der Domkirche St. Stephan zu Wien | Stephansplatz 3 | 1010 Wien | Telefon: +43 1 51552-3054 | info@der-domschatz-kehrt-zurueck.at
Graphikdesign: Roman Gerhardt | www.kailuweit-kultur.com